St William's Catholic Primary School

Christ at Our Heart

Young Street, Bradford, West Yorkshire, BD8 9RG

01274 545743

office@stwilliams.bradford.sch.uk

Activities To Do At Home

 

Parents of children starting primary school in September can find some help and guidance here.

 

 

If you have access to the internet, here are some links you can use:

 

Places to Visit:

Local History Saltaire - https://www.saltairecollection.org/schools/

Harewood House, Leeds - https://harewood.org/explore/#explore3

Science and Media Museum, Bradford - https://blog.scienceandmediamuseum.org.uk/explore-the-national-science-and-media-museum-at-home/

 

Music:

sameboatmusicathome

 

Art:

Art Ideas to do at Home - Hello Artists

 

Activity and Learning websites

Here are some fantastic resources to keep you and the children busy! Simply copy and paste the links into your web browser.

Letterjoin- https://www.letterjoin.co.uk · Maths Shed- https://www.mathshed.com · Picture News https://www.picture-news.co.uk · Purple Mash - https://www.purplemash.com/login/ · Spelling Shed- https://www.spellingshed.com · Spellodrome- https://uk.spellodrome.com/#/home · Times Tables Rock Stars - https://ttrockstars.com/

The websites below have creative ideas, educational, games and lots of activity ideas · Twinkl- https://www.twinkl.com/offer Code: UKTWINKLHELPS for 1-month free resources · Learning and Exploring Through Play- www.learningandexploringthroughplay.com · Primary resources - https://www.bbc.co.uk/teach · Best Ideas for Kids- https://www.thebestideasforkids.com/ · Family Days Tried and Tested- www.familydaystriedandtested.com · Arts and Culture- https://artsandculture.g

 

Early Years

Audible – Free while schools are closed for kids to listen to stories. http://stories.audible.com

Imagination Tree- https://theimaginationtree.com/ CBeebies- https://www.bbc.co.uk/cbeebies CBeebies Radio- https://www.bbc.co.uk/cbeebies/radio Messy Little Monster - https://www.messylittlemonster.com Preschool Inspirations - https://preschoolinspirations.com Teach Preschool- https://teachpreschool.org Red Ted Art- www.redtedart.com Music with Nancy- https://youtu.be/egt_2WBjeOM

 

Primary

The maths factor by Carol Vorderman is free of charge until schools open and is targeted for children aged 4-11 years old. https://www.themathsfactor.com

Audible – Free while schools are closed for kids to listen to stories. http://stories.audible.com

Activity Village - https://www.activityvillage.co.uk/

BBC Bitesize- http://www.bbc.co.uk/learning/coursesearch/

British Council- https://www.britishcouncil.org/school-resources/find

Children’s University of Manchester - https://www.childrensuniversity.manchester.ac.uk/ Mystery Science- https://www.mysteryscience.com Nature Detectives- https://naturedetectives.woodlandtrust.org.uk/naturedetectives/ National Geographic Kids- https://www.natgeokids.com/uk/ Oxford Owl for Home- https://www.oxfordowl.co.uk/for-home/ Scouts- https://www.scouts.org.uk/the-great-indoors/ Scholastic- http://www.scholastic.com Ted Ed- https://ed.ted.com The Kids Should See This- https://thekidshouldseethis.com Vooks- http://www.vooks.com

 
  
Build a fort
Write a story
Have a movie day
Put on a fashion show
Build an obstacle course
Make a treasure hunt
Put on a play
Have a dance party
Write a diary
Have a Tea Party
 
Games
Play I Spy
Play Simon Says
Play Hide and Seek
Do a Puzzle
Play Hangman
Play Noughts and Crosses
Play Board Games
Play Card Games
Make Up Your Own Game
 
Carfts
Make Paper Airplanes
Make Sponge Stamps
Make Vegetable Stamps
Make Your Own Bookmarks
Make a Bracelet
Make a Bird Feeder
Make a Scrapbook
Pain Leaves
Make a Collage
Colouring Books
Make a Super Hero Costume
 
Make Playdough - 
You will need
  • 8 tbsp plain flour
  • 2 tbsp table salt
  • 60ml warm water
  • food colouring
  • 1 tbsp vegetable oil 

Method

1. Mix the flour and salt in a large bowl. In a separate bowl mix together the water, a few drops of food colouring and the oil.

2. Pour the coloured water into the flour mix and bring together with a spoon.

3. Dust a work surface with a little flour and turn out the dough. Knead together for a few minutes to form a smooth, pliable dough. If you want a more intense colour you can work in a few extra drops of food colouring.

4. Store in a plastic sandwich bag (squeeze out the air) in the fridge to keep it fresh.

Make Slime - 
STEP 1: Measure 1/2 cup for PVA washable school glue into a bowl. Mix with 1/2 cup of water. STEP 2: Stir in 1/4 tsp of baking soda (can use 1/2 tsp for thicker slime). STEP 3: Add food coloring, glitter, or confetti to this mixture and mix to incorporate everything.